DATA SCIENCE - A SIGN OF THE TIMES by W H Inmon

Ray Diaz, CBIP, CDP, CSM, ICP-ATF

DATA SCIENCE - A SIGN OF THE TIMES by W H Inmon

An excellent post by Bill Inmon DATA SCIENCE - A SIGN OF THE TIMES.

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/data-science-sign-times-w-h-inmon-bill-inmon

My response:

Bill, love the quote you provided that tells the dirty little secret about the dark world of analytics. Every organization wants to jump to the elegant shiny objects of visualizations, prescriptive and predictive analytics, AI - Machine Learning, Deep Learning, and automation without paying the price of the disciple and design to provide clean and well-managed data as the source of these high-level capabilities.

“The reality is that I spend 95% of my time accessing, cleansing, and preparing data. I only get to use my mathematical knowledge very infrequently. Instead of being a statistician, I should have been a data garbageman. Because that is what I really do.” - Data Scientist 

Without a strong data governance program and operationalized data management that includes metadata management, data quality management, and solid data architecture, these high-level capabilities of turning data assets into real actionable wisdom is a nightmare of inaccurate information, a multitude of support issues, and bad decision making.

Edited By:
Ray Diaz, CBIP, CDP, CSM, ICP-ATF[All DATAVERSITY Members] @ Oct 01, 2019 - 10:03 AM (America/Eastern)

Michelle Knight

RE: DATA SCIENCE - A SIGN OF THE TIMES by W H Inmon
(in response to Ray Diaz, CBIP, CDP, CSM, ICP-ATF)

Thank you, Ray, for pointing out an excellent article.