Three Words I Hate to Hear

Anthony J Algmin

Three Words I Hate to Hear

As a consultant I often witness push back, skepticism, excuses for why it can't be done--the list goes on and on. But there are three words I hate to hear more than anything:

"I'm not technical."

This to me is like wanting to be a race car driver with no knowledge of how to fix a car. As data professionals, we must always be willing to dive deeper and build our understanding. Sure, the first time we pop the hood we may not know what everything is or what to do about it--but soon we'll be much further along than if we had never tried.

So I gave you mine--what are your three words you hate to hear?

Anthony J. Algmin
[login to unmask email]
Go Make an Impact!

Ray Diaz, CBIP, CDP, CSM, ICP-ATF

RE: Three Words I Hate to Hear
(in response to Anthony J Algmin)

"It Won't Work."

Especially when they say that without hearing the whole solution. 

Gail McAuliffe, M.Sc -CIM

Always this way. One of my pet peeves: the idea that because, "we've always done it this way", we should keep doing it the same way. 

Aaron Fuller

"Not the time," or "not the right time." When an organization knows is has to do a hard thing and the sooner the better, but they just don't have the bravery to proceed.

Aaron Fuller, CBIP

Founder & Principal Consultant

Superior Data Strategies 

517-803-0714

superiordatastrategies.com

<a href="https://www.superiordatastra

Phil Henderson

"It's Too Political"

Usually means that there will be extra time trying to deliver this project.

Edited By:
Phil Henderson[All DATAVERSITY Members] @ May 17, 2019 - 02:08 PM (America/Pacific)

William McKnight

Nice one Anthony. We could have a thread dedicated to those 3 words. As a consultant, I may be there because of those 3 words.

For my 3 words, I'll say...

Cloud is Insecure

Agile's for Software

Already Tried That

Don't Care if there's ROI (sorry, 5 words)